U.K. broadcaster Jonathan Ross has been named as the recipient of the Music Industry Trusts' Award for 2009.

In recognition of services to music broadcasting, the honor will be presented to Ross at London's Grosvenor House on Nov. 2. More than 1,000 guests will attend the annual charity dinner in aid of Nordoff Robbins Music Therapy and the BRIT Trust.

Ross currently has a BBC One TV show "Friday Night With Jonathan Ross," which features music acts performing and in conversation. Recent guests include Eminem, U.K. pop act Take That and alt-rock act Gossip. The show is in its 17th season.

BBC Radio 2's "Jonathan Ross Show" is now in its 10th year and last year he won the Sony Gold Award for music radio personality of the year.'

Ross' two shows earned him a No. 10 placing in Billboard's "Maximum Exposure: U.K" Top 10 (Billboard, Sept. 27).

"We are especially delighted for our two charities that Jonathan Ross is our 2009 MITs recipient as we know that this going to be a very popular and lively evening," said David Munns, chairman of the award committee, in a statement. "For over two decades Jonathan Ross has been an important part of the U.K. music landscape and has provided valuable support in challenging times. His passion for music, enthusiasm for discovering and encouraging musicians and the importance of his two shows for artist development, makes Jonathan Ross a worthy recipient of the 2009 MITs Award."

Jonathan Ross commented: "This is an incredible honor from an industry that I have always loved: music has always played a large part in my life and it's been a privilege to not only present most of my musical heroes but to give a leg up to the next generation."

The Music Industry Trusts' Award, now in its 18th year, recognizes achievement and generosity in the British music business, reflecting the respect of the recipient's peers and benefiting charitable causes. Last year it was presented to Universal Music International chairman and CEO Lucian Grainge and featured performances by Mika and Take That.

Previous recipients include Sir George Martin, Harvey Goldsmith, Michael Parkinson and the late Ahmet Ertegun, as well as musicians Kylie Minogue, Peter Gabriel, Sir Elton John and Bernie Taupin, and John Barry.