The U.K. iTunes store is urging music fans to vote for their favorite song and album of 2009 from a shortlist published today (Nov. 13).

The 10 songs and 10 albums were chosen by the iTunes U.K. editorial team in London from the year's releases. A winner in each category will be revealed in early December based on public votes via Facebook. Voting closes on Dec. 1.

The albums shortlist is:

"Empire Of The Sun" (EMI) - Empire Of The Sun
"Lungs" (Island/Universal) - Florence & The Machine
"West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum" (Columbia/Sony Music) - Kasabian
"La Roux" (Polydor/Universal) - La Roux
"Guns Don't Kill People, Lazers Do" (Downtown/V2) - Major Lazer
"Sunny Side Up" (Atlantic/Warner) - Paolo Nutini
"Primary Colours" (XL Recordings) - The Horrors
"The Invisible" (Accidental Records) - The Invisible
"Conditions" (Infectious) - The Temper Trap
"The XX" (Young Turks/XL Recordings) - The XX

The best song shortlist is:

"My Girls" (Domino) - Animal Collective
"That Golden Rule" (14th Floor/Warner) - Biffy Clyro
"Boom Boom Pow" (Interscope) - Black Eyed Peas
"Bonkers" (Dirtee Stank) - Dizzee Rascal
"Heavy Cross" (Fred Falke Remix) (Sony Music) - Gossip
"Tonight's Today" (XL Recordings) - Jack Penate
"Empire State Of Mind" (Roc Nation/Atlantic) - Jay-Z feat. Alicia Keys
"Use Somebody" (Hand Me Down/Sony Music) - Kings Of Leon
"In For The Kill" (Polydor/Universal) - La Roux
"1901" (Ghettoblaster/V2) - Phoenix