Jay-Z, the Smashing Pumpkins and the Offspring are among the acts confirmed for Japan's 2010 Summer Sonic Festival.

The festival, staged in Tokyo and Osaka on Aug. 7 to 8, will also feature the Pixies, Dream Theater, Nickelback, a-ha, Sum 41, Orbital, Deadmau5, Slash, 3OH!3, 30 Seconds to Mars and Pendulum.

More acts will be announced in the coming weeks.

Summer Sonic, which launched in 2000, is produced and promoted by Creativeman Productions. The capacity is around 50,000 on each site.