Gotye Sweeps APRA Awards
Gotye Sweeps APRA Awards

Having already conquered the world with their song "Somebody That I Used To Know," Gotye and Kimbra are well set to dominate the 30th annual APRA Awards, to be held May 28 at the Sydney Convention & Exhibition Centre.

Gotye's 'Somebody That I Used to Know' Atop Hot 100 for Third Week

The reigning ARIA male and female artist award winners are up for a brace of APRA awards, including nods in the prestigious APRA song of the year category, though the pair are in the running for different works.

Justin Bieber, Gotye, Maroon 5 Hit Record Books as 2012 Digital Song Sales Are on Fire

Gotye (real name Wally de Backer) is nominated for his global smash, "Somebody that I Used to Know," while Kimbra (real name Kimbra Johnson) - who collaborates on that track - is up for her solo song "Cameo Lover."

Also nominated in the peer-voted song of the year category is Matt Corby for "Brother," Lanie Lane for "(Oh Well) That's What You Get (Falling In Love With A Cowboy)" and the Beards' novelty number "You Should Consider Having Sex With A Bearded Man".

Gotye's "Somebody" is also up for most-played Australian work, a category where he's up against tracks by the Potbelleez, Marvin Priest, Jebediah and Birds of Tokyo. "Somebody" has sold more than five million copies globally, en route to topping the singles charts on both sides of the Atlantic and beyond.

Kimbra is in the hunt for the APRA breakthrough songwriter of the year trophy, a list that includes Drapht, Boy and Bear, Lanie Lane and Matt Corby. The New Zealand-born Kimbra will take confidence from her recent grand prize in the International Songwriting Competition (for "Cameo Lover"), and the $25,000 winner's check that came with it.

In the APRA Awards category for international work of the year, Neon Trees' "Animal" - the most played track on Australian radio in 2011 - is facing off against Maroon 5's "Moves Like Jagger," LMFAO's "Party Rock Anthem," Jessie J's "Price Tag" and Adele's "Rollin' In The Deep".

All told, 11 awards will be handed out on the night, including the categories for songwriter of the year and the Ted Albert Award for outstanding contribution, both of which are decided by the APRA board of writer and publisher directors.

A full list of nominations can be found here.

Australian subscription television channel MAX will broadcast the show on June 12, and again on June 14.

Established in 1982, the annual APRA awards recognize those composers and songwriters who have achieved the highest performances of their work and excellence in their craft over the previous year. The gala caps the biennial APRA Song Summit, which is held May 26-28.