One Direction, Bruno Mars and Luke Bryan will compete for the Breakthrough Award at the Billboard Touring Awards on Nov. 14 in New York.

The honor goes to the top-grossing artist that cracks Billboard Boxscore's top tour recap for the first time in his or her career based on ticket sales reported between Oct. 1, 2012, and Sept. 30, 2013.

Past winners include Lady Antebellum, Jason Aldean, Lady Gaga, Il Divo, Miley Cyrus and Justin Timberlake.


Subscribe to billboard biz to continue reading this article and thousands more. subscribers get:
  • 24/7 coverage of every genre and sector of the business with over 150 exclusive charts
  • Bulletin: Breaking stories, chart info and analysis sent directly to your inbox every weekday
  • Billboard Magazine iPad Edition: An enhanced version of the magazine with video, photo galleries and playable charts
  • Archives: A rich history of articles and exclusive charts

Join now or Log In