Emmy Nominations 2013

Emmy Nominations 2013


"The Voice" and the talk shows of Jimmy Fallon, Jimmy Kimmel, and Ryan Seacrest received Emmy Awards nominations Thursday morning for their work in the 2012-2013 TV season.

In addition "Crossfire Hurricane," the documentary celebrating the Rolling Stones' 50th anniversary, recent Oscar winner Mychael Danna and the creators of the extravagantly staged opening to the Tony Awards, Adam Schlesinger and David Javerbaum, are up for the 65th Primetime Emmy Awards that will be handed out Sept. 22.

Schlesinger and Javerbaum's "If I Had Time," sung by Neil Patrick Harris and an ensemble that appeared to include everyone working on a show within two miles of Times Square, is up for Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics against two songs from NBC's canceled "Smash" – "Hang the Moon" by Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman and "I Hear Your Voice in a Deam" by Andrew McMahon – "Rural Juror" from "30 Rock," "Nothing in this World Will Ever Break My Heart Again" from ABC's "Nashville" and "More Or Less The Kind Of Thing You May Or May Not Possibly See On Broadway" for the Neighbors, written by Alan Menken and Glenn Slater. Sarah Jane Buxton and Kate York wrote the song for "Nashville"; Tina Fey, Jeff Richmond and Tracey Wingfield created the "30 Rock" tune.

Danna's score for Reelz Channel's "World Without End" is up for Outstanding Music Composition for a Miniseries, Movie or a Special. The other nominees are Ivor Guest and Robert Logan (HBO's "Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence in the House of God"); Dirk Bross (HBO's "Parade's End"); Lorne David Baife (Sundance Channel's "Restless"); Anton Sanko (Lifetime's "Ring of Fire"); and Philip Miller (HBO's "The Girl").

Jeff Beal and Nathan W. Barr are the only composers up for two awards. Beal's score for Netflix's "House of Cards" is nominated for Outstanding Music Composition for a Series and Original Main Title Theme Music; and Barr has two themes in contention, Netflix' "Hemlock Grove" and FX's "The Americans."

The other nominees in the series score category are David Schwartz (Netflix' "Arrested Development"); John Lunn (PBS' "Downton Abbey"); Robert Duncan (ABC "Last Resort"); Charlie Mole (PBS' "Mr Selfridge"); and Trevor Morris (Showtime's "The Borgias").