Honors to be presented May 23.

German baritone Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau and Brazilian composer/musician/singer Gilberto Gil are the winners of the Polar Music Prize 2005, the Royal Swedish Academy of Music in Stockholm announced today (Oct. 25).

The winners will be honored by His Majesty King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden in a ceremony May 23, 2005, at the Stockholm Concert Hall, followed by a celebratory banquet at the Grand Hotel.

Fischer-Dieskau was cited "for his unparalleled achievements as a penetrating and innovative interpreter of art songs in the German language," and Gil for "his unflinching creative engagement in bringing to the world the heart and soul of the rich music of Brazil."

The late Stig Anderson founded the Polar Music Prize in 1989. The ABBA mentor donated part of his fortune from his publishing concern Sweden Music and record label Polar Music to The Royal Swedish Academy of Music for the creation of the prize.

Now in its 14th year, the prize is awarded to individuals, groups or institutions for recognition of exceptional achievement in the creation and advancement of music. Winners each receive 1 million Swedish crowns ($141,000).

Among the previous winners are Sir Paul McCartney, Dizzy Gillespie, Witold Lutoslawski, Quincy Jones, Mstislav Rostropovitch, Sir Elton John, Joni Mitchell, Pierre Boulez, Bruce Springsteen, Eric Ericson, Ray Charles, Ravi Shankar, Iannis Xenakis, Stevie Wonder, Bob Dylan and Isaac Stern.