Sanctuary Records has signed a worldwide licensing and distribution deal for Scottish '80s hitmakers Simple Minds.

Sanctuary Records has signed Scottish '80s hitmakers Simple Minds to a worldwide licensing and distribution deal.

The band members are in the Netherlands recording a new album for a September release. The as-yet-untitled set is produced by Jez Coad and Simple Minds and mixed by Bob Clearmountain. An extensive tour is planned for next year.

"The songs for the new album are full of the passion, energy and drive that characterized their best work," Sanctuary senior VP of A&R John Williams says.

Jim Kerr and lead guitarist Charlie Burchill formed Simple Minds in the late 1970s; they previously performed in Glasgow punk outfit Johnny & the Self Abusers.

Simple Minds had a string of hits in the '80s and early '90s, including "Don't You Forget About Me," "Waterfront," "Promised You a Miracle" and "Belfast Child." The band's 13 studio albums -- most issued through Virgin Records -- have sold more than 30 million units worldwide, according to Sanctuary. In the United Kingdom, five of the band's albums have debuted at No. 1.

Most recently, Simple Minds recorded for Eagle Rock, releasing the albums "Neon Lights" in 2001 and "Cry" in 2002.

Sanctuary says plans are in the works on a live concert DVD and a separate documentary chronicaling the band's career.