Gala held in Los Angeles.

Composer John Debney was honored with the Henry Mancini Award at ASCAP's 20th Annual Film & Television Music Awards gala, held last night (April 27) at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles. The three-time Emmy winner was recognized for scoring more than 50 films, including "Sin City," "The Pacifier" and "The Passion of the Christ," for which he received an Oscar nomination.

Past Henry Mancini winners include Quincy Jones, Michel LeGrand, Johnny Mandel, Randy Newman, James Newton Howard, Howard Shore, Alan Silvestri and Hans Zimmer.

Mark Snow was handed this year's Golden Note Award in recognition of his more than 20 years of film and television compositions. The composer is best known for the instantly-recognizable theme to the former Fox-TV hit "X-Files."

Snow, whose other credits include "The Twilight Zone," "Starsky & Hutch" and "Smallville," joins past recipients Stevie Wonder, Jay-Z, Garth Brooks, Sean "P. Diddy" Combs, Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis and Elton John.

As the composer of such standards as "Over the Rainbow," "Stormy Weather" and "Come Rain or Come Shine," legendary songwriter Harold Arlen was honored for a storied career that included collaborations with Ira Gershwin, Johnny Mercer and Truman Capote. Arlen's wife Joan and son Sam recently started a scholarship fund for fledgling composers and songwriters through the ASCAP Foundation.

Hosted by ASCAP president/chairman Marilyn Bergman, the evening also recognized the composers of the biggest box office film music and most-performed television music of 2004. Categories included most-performed themes, most-performed underscore, top television series and top box office films.