Indie trade body reveals members, due procedures.

Representatives from V2, Artemis, Smithsonian Folkways, Saddle Creek, Spin Art and Putumayo World Music were among the labels on hand for the official launch of the American Assn. of Independent Music. Acting president Don Rose says about 125 labels attended the founders conclave, held tonight (June 6) at the Maritime Hotel in New York.

The organization's goals are "to try and level the playing field wherever we can and promote fair trade practices and the values and spirit of entrepreneurship and innovation," says Rose.

Up next for the AAIM will be a similar West Coast launch. "We received dozens of email messages of support, especially from the West Coast labels who couldn't make the trip," Rose says. "We're going to follow-up with a West Coast event in the next several weeks. We don't know where or when yet, but the demand is there."

At the New York meeting, the independent trade body revealed its interim board: Bar None Records owner Glenn Morrow, Beggars Group CEO Lesley Bleakley, Roadrunner Records senior VP/GM Doug Keogh, Lookout Records co-owner Molly Neuman, Thirsty Ear president Peter Gordon, Tommy Boy Records owner Tommy Silverman and TVT Records president Steve Gottlieb.

One of the founding members of Rykodisc, Rose says he will continue as AAIM's acting president for the foreseeable future. He says the body is waiting for dues to be collected before staging a vote to make the positions official. "We're targeting a September election for elected board members," Rose says. "The transition for me would be at the point at which the board believes it could commit to a long-term overhead."

AAIM is offering independent labels two levels of membership, either a one or a two-year commitment. Rose says will rates are variable and will be based upon a label's Nielsen SoundScan 2004 marketshare. Labels who commit to two years upfront will receive founder status. In the coming weeks, Rose says, AAIM will begin offering an associate membership for non-labels in the independent sector. Associate members will not have voting power.