Ginny Hubbard Morris New Board Member

The BMI annual shareholders' meeting was held in New York City yesterday (Nov. 3). Virginia (Ginny) Hubbard Morris, president of St. Paul, Minn.-based Hubbard Broadcasting, was elected to a four-year term on the board of directors.

Morris began her career at the Hubbard flagship TV station KSTP-TV. She has served as president/GM of KSTP-AM and KSTP-FM and as president of the Hubbard Radio Network, a syndicator with more than 40 Midwest affiliates. She also serves on the National Assn. of Broadcasters board of directors.

Re-elected to the BMI board yesterday were GNS Media president G. Neil Smith and Barrington Broadcasting CEO K. James Yager.

Continuing in their terms on the board are: BMI chairman Cecil L. Walker, BMI president/CEO Del R. Bryant, Bustos Media Holdings president/CEO Amador Bustos, AIM Broadcasting chairman/CEO N. John Douglas, Gannett Co. president/CEO Craig A. Dubow, Pulitzer Broadcasting president/CEO Kenneth J. Elkins, Radio One founder/chairperson Catherine L. Hughes, Philip A. Jones, Clear Channel Radio CFO/executive VP Jerome L. Kersting, Jackson, Miss. Mayor Frank E. Melton, Media Operations president John L. (Jack) Sander, and George V. Willoughby.

Three long-time board members retired: Babb Communications' James G. Babb after 19 years, Hubbard Broadcasting VP corporate affairs Harold C. Crump after 21 years, and Berkshire Broadcasting former president Donald A. Thurston after 15 years.