Prize highlights border-crossing debut albums.

Ministers of culture from seven European Union countries will today (Jan. 22) attend the third edition of European Border Breakers Awards at the Midem trade show.

Held at the Palais des Festivals in Cannes, the EBBA recognize European artists whose debut has had sales success in markets outside of their country of origin.

This year's winners are British singer songwriter KT Tunstall for "Eye To The Telescope"(Relentless), German pop singer Juli for "Es Ist Juli" (Universal), Danish rock act Hush for "A Lifetime" (Universal), France's pop singer Amel Ben for "Un Jour D'Ete" (Jive), Spanish singer Bebe for "Pafuera Telaranas" (Virgin), Sweden's pop act Arash for "Boro Boro" (WEA), Belgium's rocker Sarah Bettens for "Scream" (Flow), and Irish alt rock band Hal for their eponymous debut (Rough Trade).

A special breakthrough award will also be presented to an artist from one on the 10 new EU Member States. This year Hungarian pop band Heaven Street Seven wins the prize.

The EBBAs are organized by the European Commission in collaboration with the European Music Office, authors rights societies group GESAC, the International Confederation of Music Publishers (ICMP/CIEM), label's body IFPI, indie label's organization Impala, German Sounds-Music Export Germany, and French author rights society SACEM.

Jan Figel, the European Commissioner for Education, Training, Culture and Multilingualism, will present the awards alongside ministers of culture of the EU Member States.

Said Figel, "For the third year running, the European Border Breakers Awards will display Europe's music industry in all its richness and diversity. The awards give young artists whose music has appeal throughout the EU a wonderful opportunity on the most prestigious stage."

Several of the award winners will perform at this year's ceremony. Although the show is not televised, music channel MTV Networks Europe will provide coverage of the event.

The awards are based on information supplied by the Billboard Information Group. All genres of music are taken into account, but covers, compilations and multi-artist records are excluded. Only one artist from each of the EU's Member States can receive an award.

In addition, EBBA winners can qualify for EU support in the form of co-financing of a European tour, which has to include at least four EU Member states. The maximum amount of EU co-financing is 25% of the total tour budget, up to €12,000 ($14,500).