The German record industry has announced the winners of its annual classical awards, Echo Klassik, to be presented during a gala at the Philharmonie venue in Gasteig, near Munich, Oct. 21.

The Echo Klassik award for the best-selling classical work of the year will be presented to Russian soprano Anna Netrebko for her "Russian Album" (Deutsche Grammophon/Universal).

The show will be the 14th edition of the event, which covers 21 categories in all. Winners are traditionally announced several months before the ceremony, a companion to the pop/rock Echo awards which take place annually in March. Both events are organized by trade group the German Phono Academy.

Apart from the sales-based award won by Netrebko, the others are voted for by a Phono academy-selected industry jury.

This year, Spanish soprano Montserrat Caballé will receive the lifetime achievement Echo. Other winners in key categories include Elina Garanca and Simon Keenlyside, who are named female and male signer of the year, respectively, for "Aria Cantilena" (ODE/Note 1 Musikvertrieb) and "Tales Of Opera" (SCL/Sony BMG).

German bass-baritone Thomas Quasthoff collects the "classic without borders" Echo for "The Jazz Album: Watch What Happens" (Deutsche Grammophon/Universal), a collaboration with trumpeter Till Bronner. The instrumentalist of the year award goes to saxophonist Raaf Hekkema for "24 Caprices op.1 arr. for Saxophone (Nicolo Paganini" (MDG/CODAEX) and conductor of the year is Mariss Jansons for "Samptliche Symphonien 1-15 Dmitri Schostakowitsch" (EMI).

A delayed telecast of the Echo gala will air on public broadcaster ZDF at 10pm on the night of the event.