Avril Lavigne, French electro act Justice and British rock trio Muse were multiple winners at the 14th annual MTV Europe Music Awards, held tonight (Nov. 1) in Munich.

Lavigne, who performed at the event, won for most addictive track ("Girlfriend") and solo artist of 2007. Justice won the video star prize for "D.A.N.C.E." and the France region category. Muse grabbed the best live act "headliner" and the U.K. and Ireland categories.

In the other main divisions, Linkin Park scooped band of the year honors, Nelly Furtado' European chart-topper "Loose" won album of the year and Amy Winehouse scored the artist's choice gong.

The biggest pre-gig buzz centered on whether Winehouse would show. Although she was not officially listed among the performers, word got out in the hours leading up to the awards that Winehouse would indeed take the stage. And the British crossover star didn't disappoint, delivering a rendition of her sophomore album's title track, "Back to Black."

When she collected her artists choice award earlier in the night, however, Winehouse was less than dynamic, offering an acceptance speech comprising the single word "Thanks."

Other performers included show Foo Fighters, whop opened the show with a medley of their new track "The Pretender" and the Sex Pistols' punk classic "God Save the Queen." Tokio Hotel delivered one of the night's highlights with "Monsoon" and Mika offered a rendition of "Grace Kelly," complete with a psychedelic ensemble.

Dave Grohl played the foil to host Snoop Dogg throughout the night. The Foo Fighter and his bandmate Taylor Hawkins held court at "backstage bar" where they mingled -- and played drinking games -- with a string of celebrity guests.

The MTV EMA's nominations process was opened up to the public this time, a move which saw more than 50 million votes cast, organizers say.

Questions? Comments? Let us know: @billboardbiz