Songwriter/producer/artist Timbaland was named songwriter of the year at ASCAP's 21st annual Rhythm & Soul Music Awards.

Among the other top honorees announced this evening (June 23) at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles were publisher of the year (EMI Music Publishing); R&B/hip-hop song of the year (Robin Thicke's "Lost Without U"); rap song of the year ("Make Me Better" by Fabolous featuring Ne-Yo); ringtone of the year (Mims' "This Is Why I'm Hot") and gospel song of the year (the Clark Sisters' "Blessed & Highly Favored").

Mirroring his songwriter of the year win earlier this year at the ASCAP Pop Music Awards, Timbaland was recognized for his work on four songs: "Ice Box" by Omarion, "Make Me Better" and two Justin Timberlake songs, "My Love" (featuring T.I.) and "Until the End of Time" (featuring Beyoncé). Next up with three award-winning songs was writer/singer Keri Hilson. EMI Music Publishing finished with a total of 17 award-winning songs.

Celebrating their 25th anniversary, New Edition members Ricky Bell, Michael Bivins, Bobby Brown, Ralph Tresvant, Ronnie DeVoe and Johnny Gill were presented with the Golden Note Award by writer/producer Maurice Starr and ASCAP CEO John LoFrumento. Rounding out the evening, hosted by songwriter Johnta Austin, were performances by a diverse lineup that included Shawty Lo, The Dream, J. Holiday, Raheem DeVaughn, Floetry founding member Marsha Ambrosius and Flo-Rida.