Jazz quartet Fourplay will make its Heads Up International debut Sept. 23 with "Energy." Special guest on the album is labemate and critically acclaimed upright bassist/vocalist Esperanza Spalding, who joins the foursome on the track "Prelude for Lovers."

Comprised of keyboardist Bob James, bassist Nathan East, drummer Harvey Mason and guitarist Larry Carlton (who succeeded original member Lee Ritenour in 1998), Fourplay debuted in 1991 with a self-titled album on Warner Bros. Featured on that album was the group's No. 2 R&B hit, a cover of Marvin Gaye's "After the Dance" featuring singer El DeBarge. Fourplay's last release prior to "Energy" was the RCA-issued "X" in 2006.