Two regional Mexican icons - Marco Antonio Solis and Joan Sebastian - won the songwriter of the year award at the 17th annual ASCAP Latin Music Awards held tonight at the Ritz Carlton Hotel in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Sebastian's song "Para Siempre," published by Vander Music, also won the Latin song of the year award and the regional Mexican song of the year award. Solis' "Si No Te Hubieras Ido," published by his own company, Crisma, won in the rock/pop song of the year category thanks to its newest incarnation, a cover version by Mexican rockers Mana.

The publisher of the year award went to Sony/ATV Music, for the tenth consecutive year. Sony/ATV had 37 award-winning songs.

The ASCAP Latin Music Awards honor the songwriters and publishers of ASCAP's most performed Latin songs of 2008. Awards were given in tropical, rock/pop, regional Mexican, pop/ballad, urban and television categories.

Other winning songs of the evening included "Amor Desperdiciado," by Daniel Moncion Pichard, which won tropical song of the year. The song is published by Juan & Nelson Publishers and performed by Frank Reyes. The pop/ballad song of the year award went to "Donde Estan Corazon," by Enrique Igleisas and Coti Sorokin, and performed by Igleisas. It is published by Doble Aquarela Songs, EMI April Music, Enrique Iglesias Music and WB Music Corp.

The urban song of the year was "Perdoname," by Eddy Lover and Aldo Ranks and performed by La Factoria. It is published by Nayo International Publishing and Universal Music-MGB Songs.

ASCAP also honored three songwriters with special awards for career achievement. Ricardo Montaner, who on Feb. 24 released his new album, "Las Cosas Son Como Son," was honored with the Premio Latin Heritage Award; songwriter Omar Alfanno was honored with the Premio Golden Note award; and Luis Fonsi, who is riding the crest of his successul album, "Palabras del Silencio," was honored with the Premio Voice of Music award.