Coldplay, pop singer Duffy and alt-rock act the Ting Tings are among the nominees for the Ivor Novello Awards for songwriters and composers, alongside a largely unknown self-published musician, Nick Hemming.

The 54th edition of the Ivors, covering 2008 and staged by the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (BASCA) in association with PRS for Music, will take place at London's Grosvenor House Hotel on May 21.

The awards celebrate British music writing. BRIT Award-winning indie-rock act Elbow and the Ting Tings are up for two awards, while Coldplay and pop vocalist Duffy are both up for three.

Announcing the nominees at the Ivy Club today (April 21), broadcaster Paul Gambaccini said Hemming's inclusion among the nominees as a self-published musician who releases his own music was a "first in Ivors history." He is the guitarist and chief songwriter from indie-folk act the Leisure Society, which has been championed by fellow nominee Guy Garvey of Elbow.

Hemming is nominated for best song musically and lyrically for the self-published "The Last Of The Melting Snow," which was released in December 2008 as a limited edition CD as well as a download. It received airplay on national AC broadcaster Radio 2. Hemming tells the single was re-released this week on vinyl, following the March 30 physical release of debut album "The Sleeper" on Willkommen Records, a small indie in Brighton run by a collective of musicians.

"I'm happy the way it's going, we're doing it ourselves and there's no middle man, so hopefully we'll be able to make a living out of it eventually," Hemming tells "I think this [nomination] will help. If nothing else it's just very exciting and it means we get to go to an awards ceremony for the first time." He previously played in a band with actor Paddy Considine and director Shane Meadows, and has written and performed music for Meadows' films "A Room For Romeo Brass" and "Dead Man's Shoes."

Hemming is nominated for the best song musically and lyrically alongside Miles Kane and Alex Turner for the Last Shadow Puppets' song "My Mistakes Were Made For You" (Deltasonic Music/EMI Music Publishing) and Elbow for "One Day Like This" (Salvation Music/Warner/Chappell Music).

The best contemporary song category is between the Dizzee Rascal release featuring Calvin Harris "Dance Wiv Me" (Notting Hill Music/EMI Music Publishing/Hero Music/Universal Music Publishing), Elbow's "Grounds For Divorce" and the Ting Tings' "That's Not My Name," which is co-published by the Warner/Chappell Music-administered Playwrite Music and Sony/ATV Music Publishing.

The Ting Tings are also nominated for the album award for the Columbia release "We Started Nothing," along with Coldplay's Parlophone release "Viva La Vida Or Death And All His Friends" (Universal Music Publishing) and Duffy's Mercury release "Rockferry," with writers Duffy and Bernard Butler singled out for the award (Stage Three Music/EMI Music Publishing).

"Mercy" (Universal Music Publishing/EMI Music Publishing), the Duffy co-write with Steve Booker, is up for the PRS for Music most performed work at the Ivors and best-selling British song. The most performed category also includes Coldplay's "Viva La Vida" and "Sweet About Me" (EMI Music Publishing/Warner/Chappell Music/Copyright Control), released by Australian teenage pop singer Gabriella Cilmi and co-written with others including British songwriter and producer Brian Higgins of Xenomania.

The best-selling British song category is rounded off by Coldplay's "Viva La Vida" and "Paper Planes," which is credited to its performer M.I.A., DJ and producer Diplo (Thomas Wesley Pentz), and members of the Clash because of elements from their song "Straight To Hell." Publishing is shared by Imagem Music, Universal Music Publishing and Domino Publishing.

The best original film score is between "Quantum Of Solace" by David Arnold (Sony/ATV Music Publishing), "The Escapist" by Benjamin Wallfisch (Air-Edel Associates) and "There Will Be Blood" by Jonny Greenwood (Faber Music/Warner/Chappell Artemis Music). The nominees for best television soundtrack are "Fiona's Story" by Ben Bartlett (Du Vintage Publishing), "Trial And Retribution 2008" by Anne Dudley (EMI Music Publishing) and "Wallace And Gromit (A Matter Of Loaf And Death)" by Julian Nott (Imagem Music).

"Once again the breadth of the works nominated shows the health of British music writing and the range of talent," said Patrick Rackow, chief executive of BASCA, in a statement. "I am particularly pleased to see new names on the list of nominees and would like to thank this year's judges for all of their hard work."