Residente, one half of urban duo Calle 13, will host this year’s edition of Los Premios MTV 2009. The award show will air live Oct. 15 from the Gibson Amphitheatre in Los Angeles on MTV Latin America and on MTV TR3s in the U.S.

As is customary, the awards will also air on select broadcast stations throughout Latin America. Past Los Premios MTV hosts include actor Diego Luna, Paulina Rubio and rock band Molotov.

Nominees for Los Premios MTV are selected by a “Music and Video Academy” comprised of music industry professionals and fans. Winners for most of the categories are chosen by viewers’ votes through MTV Latin America’s Web site