U.K. melodic rock act Keane has announced a series of outdoor live shows to take place next summer as part of the Forestry Commission Live Music (FCLM) series, following the global release of a new 8-track EP entitled "The Night Train" on May 10.

Written and recorded during the band's 2008 "Perfect Symmetry" world tour, "The Night Train" (Island) includes collaborations with Somali/Canadian rapper K'Naan and Japanese MC Tigarah, as well as a song entitled "Your Love" featuring a rare lead vocal from the band's Ivor Novello-winning songwriter Tim Rice-Oxley.

"I think those tracks show us in a completely different light," said Keane frontman Tom Chaplin in a statement. "The Night Train" will be available to pre-order through Keane's award-winning official website www.keanemusic.com from Dec. 2.

The six-date FCLM tour commences at Thetford Forest, Nr Brandon, Suffolk, on June 10 and wraps June 26 at Cannock Chase Forest, Nr Rugeley, Staffordshire.

The BRIT award-winning band will also play shows at Bedgebury Pinetum Forest, Kent (June 11), Westonbirt Arboretum, Gloucestershire (June 18), Sherwood Pines Forest Park, Nottinghamshire (June 19) and Dalby Forest, North Yorkshire (June 25). The promoter is the Forestry Commission; booking is by William Morris Agency.

Tickets for the Keane dates go on sale Dec. 4 from www.forestry.gov.uk/music and cost £32.00 ($53).

The FCLM initiative was launched in 2001 as an awareness-raising venture by the Commission -- the government department responsible for the protection and expansion of Britain's forests and woodlands. The concerts also provide revenue which helps fund various social and environmental projects.

Previous acts to play FCLM Shows include Paul Weller, Simply Red, Crowded House, KT Tunstall, Blondie, Van Morrison, UB40 and the Pet Shop Boys. Simply Red was previously confirmed for a similar tour utilizing many of the same outdoor locations next year (June 11-July 2).

Keane has released three albums to date, selling approx 10 million records, according to its label. Its latest studio set, 2008's "Perfect Symmetry" (Island), was the band's third consecutive U.K. No. 1.