Pop-rock band Fito & Los Fitipaldis won three of the six awards it was nominated for by the Premios de la Musica award gala organizers, the Academy of Music Arts and Sciences formed by collecting society SGAE and artists association AiE, the Academy announced Feb. 17.

The only other artist to take more than one award was flamenco copla singer Miguel Poveda, who won both of his nominations. The 14th Premios gala will be held March 4 in Madrid, with Joaquin Sabina and Pereza together, SFDK, Zenet and La Bien Querida among confirmed live performers. The awards are given annually to Spanish artists who record in one of the five languages spoken in the Spanish state (Castilian, Catalan/Valencian, Euskera/Basque, Galician and Asturian).

Fito & Los Fitipaldis (Warner DRO) won best rock album ("Antes De Que Cuente Diez") and won best song for its title track, along with best artistic production. The album was produced by Carlos Raya. Miguel Poveda (Universal/Discmedi) won for best album ("Coplas Del Querer") and the title track for best Spanish song.

This year's gala returns to Madrid because of the economic crisis, after three years in far-flung Spanish cities - Cordoba, Valladolid and Badajoz. But SGAE says the all-Spanish event with 28 categories will become itinerant again when the economic situation improves.

Artistic producer Nacho Saenz de Tejada says the chief aim of the Premios gala is "to give an opportunity to acts that have already shown they have quality. Every performer plays live - there is absolutely no playback as in other galas." De Tejada says the event will be televised by one of public Television Española's two channels, TVE1 or La 2.

Other winners include best new artist Zenet (El Volcan Musica/EMI), best alternative rock album by Javier Corcobado for "A Nadie" (PIAS Spain), best hip-hop album by SFDK for "Siempre Fuertes 2," best electronic music album by Aviador Dro for "Yo, Cyborg" (PIAS Spain), and best video for Macaco (EMI) with the song "Moving."