Canadian Independent Music Association Elects Board Of Directors
Canadian Independent Music Association Elects Board Of Directors

The Canadian Independent Music Association (CIMA), which represents about 180 Canadian-owned independent companies from the English-language Canadian sound recording industry, has filled 10 new positions on the 2011-12 Board of Directors.

Elected by CIMA's membership at their annual general meeting Sept. 27 in Toronto were Ric Arboit, Nettwerk Productions; Jon Bartlett, Kelp Records; Pegi Cecconi, Anthem Entertainment; Shauna de Cartier, Six Shooter Records; Bernie Finkelstein, Finkelstein Management; Jake Gold, The Management Trust; Mike Greatorex, Sonic Records; Geoff Kulawick, True North Records; Jeffrey Remedios, Arts & Crafts Productions and Tony Sal, CP Records.

"I am excited to be working with this new Board of Directors, and I extend my congratulations to those who were elected or reelected to the Board, as well as a heartfelt thank you to all those who put their name forward for election," CIMA president Stuart Johnston said in a statement. "This Board will be leading the charge on a number of issues on behalf of the membership, not the least of which is overseeing the implementation of CIMA's new strategic plan."

Remaining on the Board for another year are: Jeff Craib, Feldman & Associates; Bob D'Eith, Adagio Music; Grant Dexter, MapleMusic; Gord Dimitrieff, Aporia Records; Matt Drouin, Equator Music; Terry Flood, DKD Group; Alvin Jahns, Stony Plain Records; Grit Laskin, Borealis Records; Sander Shalinsky, Coalition Entertainment Records and Jim West, Justin Time Records.

Questions? Comments? Let us know: @billboardbiz