Sex Pistols Sign Catalog Deal With Universal U.K.
Sex Pistols Sign Catalog Deal With Universal U.K.

Legendary British punk band the Sex Pistols has signed a deal with Universal Music Catalog U.K. covering the group's small, but still highly popular back catalog. As part of the deal, Universal will re-release the Sex Pistols' seminal debut album Never Mind The Bollocks, Here's The Sex Pistols later this year to mark the record's 35th anniversary.

"Music can be great, when done by the great. The Sex Pistols are the greatest," said a statement from singer Johnny Rotten, confirming the deal, which covers the world excluding North America. Writing in semi-verse form, Rotten, whose real name is John Lydon, went on to say:

"Universal now has a trophy room,
Music is the imitation of nature,
The Sex Pistols are nature,
So please give generously.
Thank You."

The financial details of the deal were not disclosed, though it is understood that the deal covers Nevermind The Bollocks... and the film soundtrack The Great Rock 'N' Roll Swindle. Commenting on the acquisition, Karen Simmonds, managing director at Universal Music Catalog U.K. said in a statement: "To be given the opportunity to re-evaluate the Sex Pistols catalog is every music lover's dream. We're looking forward to working with the band and celebrating their impact on worldwide culture."

Originally released in November 1977, Never Mind The Bollocks, Here's The Sex Pistols is the band's only studio album and topped the U.K. charts upon release. An expanded and repackaged edition of the album, which features the classic tracks "God Save the Queen," "Anarchy in the U.K." and "Pretty Vacant," is scheduled for release later this year. A number of accompanying Sex Pistols releases and events are also planned for "2012 and beyond," says Universal Music Catalog U.K.

Meanwhile, John Lydon's post-Pistols outfit, Public Image Limited, has announced that they will play two shows at London's Heaven venue on April 1 and 2, ahead of its new EP release. Entitled One Drop, the 4-track EP is due for release April 21 to coincide with Record Store Day. It precedes new studio set This Is PiL, which drops May 28 and marks the band's first album in over twenty years. One Drop and This Is PiL will both be released on the band's own label imprint PiL Official via Cargo U.K. Distribution. A number of U.K. live dates are also planned for the summer.

Having formed in the immediate aftermath of the Sex Pistols messy break-up, Public Image Limited initially comprised of John Lydon, Keith Levine, Jah Wobble and Jim Walker and released eight studio albums between 1978 and 1992, although the band's line up varied greatly between releases. In 2009, PiL - now comprising of Lydon alongside former members Bruce Smith, Lu Edmonds and new recruit Scott Firth - reunited for its first live shows in over fifteen years. The act has toured steadily since, including a 2010 performance at Coachella.