Plan B, Everything Everything Top Ivor Novello Award Nominations
Plan B, Everything Everything Top Ivor Novello Award Nominations

The 57th Ivor Novello Awards nominations have been announced and, as usual, British vocal powerhouse Adele heads the pack.

The awards, regarded as the most important awards for UK music writers, reward excellence in songwriting and composing. They are presented by BASCA (British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors) in association with PRS for Music and judged by the songwriting and composing community.

Taking place on May 17 in London's Grosvenor House, this year's nominations for Best Song Musically And Lyrically include "Rolling In The Deep" by Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth (Universal Music Publishing/EMI Music Publishing), Florence and the Machine's "Shake It Out" (written by Paul Epworth, Florence Welch and Kid Harpoon) (EMI Music Publishing/Universal Music Publishing) and "The A Team", written and performed by British wonderkid Ed Sheeran (Sony/ATV Music Publishing).

Lana Del Rey gets a mention with her smash hit "Video Games", co-written by Justin Parker (EMI Music Publishing/Sony/ATV Music Publishing), nominated for Best Contemporary Song.

Adele is credited again for "Rolling In The Deep" (Adele Adkins/Paul Epworth) (Universal Music Publishing/EMI Music Publishing), which is up for the PRS for Music Most Performed Work, alongside "Someone Like You" (Adele Adkins/Dan Wilson) (Universal Music Publishing/BMG Chrysalis). And, no surprises, she's up for the Album Award as well with her multi-platinum disc 21, the U.K's best-selling album of the 21st century.

Other awards to be announced on the night include the Lifetime Achievement, Outstanding Song Collection, PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music, PRS for Music Special International Award and Songwriter(s) of the Year.


Best Song Musically and Lyrically:

"Rolling In The Deep" - Adele

"Shake It Out" - Florence + The Machine

"The A Team" - Ed Sheeran

Best Contemporary Song:

"Promises" - Nero

"The Wilhelm Scream" - James Blake

"Video Games" - Lana Del Rey

Best Original Film Score:

Life In A Day - Harry Gregson-Williams and Matthew Herbert

The First Grader
- Alex Heffes

We Need To Talk About Kevin - Jonny Greenwood

Best Television Soundtrack:

Leonardo - Mark Russell

Page Eight - Paul Englishby

The Shadow Line
- Martin Phipps

PRS for Music Most Performed Work:

"Rolling In The Deep" - Adele

"Someone Like You" - Adele

"The Flood" - Take That

Album Award:

21 - Adele

50 Words For Snow - Kate Bush

Let England Shake - PJ Harvey