Pop-country group Emerson Drive was the bigger winner at this year's Canadian Country Music Awards, which were held Sept. 10 at the Brandt Centre in Regina, Saskatchewan.

The band picked up single video and group or duo of the year nods. It's single "Moments" was a hit in the U.S. and Canada.

Veteran Canadian country act Brad Johner, from host province Saskatchewan, was presented with male artist of the year honors. Alberta singer-songwriter Carolyn Dawn Johnson took home the top female award. Corb Lund won roots artist of the year for the second year in a row and band Doc Walker took home top album honors for its self-titled CD.

Aaron Pritchett was the SOCAN songwriter of the year for "Hold My Beer", while Shane Yellowbird, who performed his hit "Pickup Truck," was named the Chevy rising star.The Kraft Cheez Whiz Fans' Choice Award was won by Terri Clark, who has now accepted the award seven times.

Hosted by Canadian superstar Paul Brandt, the awards aired on CBC TV and will also be transmitted on CMT Canada and in the U.S. on GAC in the coming weeks.