Newcomer Jessie Farrell leads the field with seven nominations for the upcoming 2008 Canadian Country Music Awards, which will be held September 8 at the MTS Centre in Winnipeg. Farrell garnered nods for single of the year, album, female artist, CMT video, songwriter, top new talent (female) and Fans' Choice.

Meanwhile, the band Doc Walker earned a total of six nods, including single, album, songwriters, CMT Video, group or duo and Fans' Choice.

Other multiple nominees include Paul Brandt with five, Gord Bamford with four, George Canyon and Deric Ruttan with three each, and Ambush, Crystal Shawanda, Johnny Reid, Emerson Drive and Ridley Bent all up for two awards each.

Last year's Fans' Choice Award winner Terri Clark will host the show, which will feature performances from Farrell, Canyon, Dierks Bentley, Doc Walker, Emerson Drive and Reid.

The show will be broadcast nationally on CBC Television with encore broadcasts on CMT Canada.