Country star Alan Jackson will be honored with ASCAP's Founders Award at the organization's 48th annual Country Music Awards on Sept. 14. The event is invitation-only and will honor the songwriters and publishers of ASCAP's most performed country songs from April 1, 2009 through March 31, 2010.

The Founders Award is among ASCAP's most prestigious honors and is given to songwriters or composers who have "made pioneering contributions to music by inspiring and influencing their fellow music creators," according to a release. Past recipients include Paul McCartney, Garth Brooks, Stevie Wonder, Billy Joel, Smokey Robinson, Emmylou Harris, James Taylor and Jackson Browne.

The awards take place at War Memorial Auditorium in downtown Nashville.