Hermitude photographed in 2015.

Courtesy Photo

Hermitude, Courtney Barnett and Vance Joy are among the best-placed artists heading into Australia’s 10th annual Independent Music Awards, nominations for which were announced Tuesday. 

Sydney electronic/hip-hop act Hermitude, winners of the Australian Music Prize in 2013 for their fourth album HyperParadise, are nominated in four categories at the so-called AIR Awards. The duo is up for best independent artist, best independent single/EP for "The Buzz (feat. Mataya & Young Tapz)", and their latest, ARIA Albums Chart-topping album Dark Night Sweet Light is up for best independent album and best independent dance/electronic album.

Exclusive: Hermitude's Single Goes 'Through The Roof' in New Remix by Awe

Close behind is Courtney Barnett, Vance Joy and #1 Dads with three nominations each. Barnett has a chance to repeat her victory last year in the prestigious best independent artist category, though she'll face a stiff challenge from Hermitude, #1 Dads, Vance Joy and Chet Faker

Violent Soho, Courtney Barnett & Sheppard Among Winners at Australia’s Independent Music Awards

Organized by trade body AIR, the awards this year will be presented Oct. 22 Melbourne’s Meat Market, with drinks brand Carlton Dry back on board as naming rights sponsor and with digital music firm Rdio supporting as a major partner.  

2015 Carlton Dry Independent Music Award Nominees:
Best Independent Artist – Presented By Carlton Dry
#1 Dads
Chet Faker
Courtney Barnett
Vance Joy

Best Independent Album
#1 Dads – "About Face"
Courtney Barnett – "Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit"
Flight Facilities – "Down To Earth"
Hermitude – "Dark Night Sweet Light"
Vance Joy – "Dream Your Life Away"

Best Independent Single Or Ep – Presented By Rdio
Bad//Dreems – "Cuffed & Collared"
Courtney Barnett – "Depreston"
Courtney Barnett – "Pedestrian At Best"
Hermitude – "The Buzz (Feat. Mataya & Young Tapz)"
Vance Joy – "Fire And The Flood"

Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year – Presented By Ppca
#1 Dads
Client Liaison
Japanese Wallpaper
Totally Mild

Best Independent Hip-Hop Album
Baro – "17/18"
Briggs – "Sheplife"
Citizen Kay – "Demokracy"
One Day – "Mainline"
Seth Sentry – "Strange New Past"

Best Independent Country Album
Amber Lawrence – "Superheroes"
Frank Yamma – "Uncle"
Jim Lawrie – "Eons"
Raised By Eagles – "Diamonds In The Bloodstream"
Troy Cassar-Daley – "Freedom Ride"

Best Independent Blues And Roots Album
C.W. Stoneking – "Gon’ Boogaloo"
Fraser A. Gorman – "Slow Gum"
Gurrumul – "The Gospel Album"
Marlon Williams – "Marlon Williams"
Paul Kelly Presents The Merri Soul Sessions – "Paul Kelly Presents The Merri Soul Sessions"

Best Independent Hard Rock, Heavy Or Punk Album
British India – "Nothing Touches Me"
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – "I’m In Your Mind Fuzz"
Northlane – "Node"
The Peep Tempel – "Tales"
The Smith Street Band – "Throw Me In The River"

Best Independent Dance/Electronica Album
Collarbones – "Return"
Flight Facilities – "Down To Earth"
Hermitude – "Dark Night Sweet Light"
Seekae – "The Worry"
Ta-Ku – "Songs To Make Up To"

Best Independent Dance, Electronica Or Club Single
Collarbones – "Turning"
Generik – "The Weekend (Feat. Nicky Van She)"
Hayden James – "Something About You"
Nicky Night Time – "Gonna Get Better (Feat. Nat Dunn)"
Rüfüs – "You Were Right"

Best Independent Jazz Album
Allan Browne Quintet – "Ithaca Bound"
Barney Mcall – "Mooroolbark"
Gian Slater – "Still Still"
Mike Nock Octet – "Suite Sima"
Sarah Mckenzie – "We Could Be Lovers"

Best Independent Classical Album
Alicia Crossley – "Alchemy"
Amir Farid – "Amir Farid Plays Javad Maroufi: Golden Dreams And Other Works"
Amy Dickson / Sydney Symphony Orchestra – "Island Songs"
Australian Brandenburg Orchestra – "Brandenburg Celebrates"
Zubin Kanga – "Piano Inside Out"