Electronic goth group Clan of Xymox formed in Nijmegen, Netherlands in 1981, crafting a sound that recalled Depeche Mode, New Order, and Sisters of Mercy. The original lineup included Ronny Moorings (guitars, vocals), Pieter Nooten (keys), Frank Weyzig (guitar, keys), and Anka Wolbert (bass, vocals) on their 1983 debut EP Subsequent Pleasures. Originally signed to the influential British indie 4AD, Clan of Xymox's blend of icy synthesizers, hard dance beats, and dramatic vocals attracted attention in its early stages, which included a self-titled 1985 debut LP and sophomore follow-up Medusa. After departing from 4AD, Moorings -- now the band's sole member -- changed the band's official name to simply Xymox and signed to Polydor. He continued releasing albums to a faithful cult audience, starting with 1989's Twist of Shadows. Along with a rotating cast of ever-changing bandmembers, Moorings released a string of albums -- capitalizing on the late-'90s industrial boom and electronica phases -- eventually reverting back to the Clan of Xymox moniker in 1997. Those late-'90s releases were reissued in 2006 and 2007 on the Gravitator label, with Clan of Xymox's 15th studio effort, Matters of Mind, Body and Soul, appearing in 2014. ~ Neil Z. Yeung, Rovi