Chillicothe, OH-based progressive death metal quintet Woe of Tyrants formed in 2004 around the talents of vocalist Chris Catanzaro, bassist Shaun Gunter, drummer Johnny Roberts, and guitarists Matt Kincaid and Nick Dozer. Equal parts late-'80s thrash (Testament, Dark Angel) and modern Scandinavian death metal (Amon Amarth, Children of Bodom), the band’s 2007 debut, Behold the Lion, resulted in a multi-album deal with Metal Blade Records, who went on to release the group’s 2009 sophomore effort, Kingdom of Might, as well as its 2010 follow-up, Threnody. ~ James Christopher Monger, Rovi