The Houston-based quintet the Hunger fused the electronic textures of industrial music with the intensity of alternative metal. Formed during the late 1980s, the group originally consisted of brothers Jeff and Thomas Wilson (both sharing vocal and keyboard duties) and bassist Brian Albritton; originally a more conventional dance unit, they debuted in 1988 with a self-produced single titled "Shock," which became a hit in local clubs. Influenced by Nine Inch Nails, Ministry and others, the Hunger's music eventually began gravitating towards an edgier, more industrial sound; a subsequent single, "Never Again," caught the attention of Houston producer Steven Bogle, who after agreeing to remix the track ultimately signed on as a full-time guitarist. After the addition of drummer Max Schuldberg, the Hunger issued their full-length indie debut, Leave Me Alone, in 1991; upon forming their own label, Gut Records, they returned in 1993 with Grip. Both were highly successful regionally, and after completing a third album, Devil Thumbs a Ride, the group signed to Universal, which issued the record in 1996; Cinematic Superthug, a further expansion into an alt-metal sound, followed in 1998. Spaceman's Last Goodbye was issued three years later. ~ Jason Ankeny, Rovi