The Hi-Town DJ's are comprised of six individuals (rappers Derrick Rahming, Matt Young, and Teeze; record spinner DJ JP; singer Kalo; and stage dancer Chyna Doll) who reject the gangsta approach to hip-hop, and embrace the party-hearty vibe instead. All of the band's members originally hailed from either Florida or Hawaii, and were originally assembled by Matt "xsdb" Young of the Icon Entertainment production company, who was looking to put together a band to introduce bass music to the rest of the world. After a demo was completed, the group was soon signed by Restless Soul Records, and recorded their debut album, We Came 2 Groove, a sweaty mix of dance and often risqué lyrics. Although many saw the band as bass music purveyors, the group was adamant that they were really just an honest-to-goodness hip-hop act. ~ Greg Prato, Rovi