Emarosa is a post-hardcore band from Lexington, Kentucky, affiliated with Rise Records. Founded in 2006, the band underwent several lineup changes before settling on the sextet of Jonny Craig (vocals; formerly of the Rise Records-affiliated band Dance Gavin Dance), ER White (guitar), Jonas Ladekjaer (guitar), Will Sowers (bass), Lukas Koszewski (drums), and Jordan Stewart (keyboards). This lineup recorded the band's seven-track debut EP, This Is Your Way Out, released by Standby Records in 2007. The band switched to Rise Records for their full-length debut, 2008's Relativity. The album proved popular in the post-hardcore underground, selling well enough to break into the Billboard 200 albums chart and also register on the Heatseekers chart.
The self-titled Emarosa album from 2010 out-performed the band's debut, peaking at number 69. In 2011, Tilian Pearson from Tides of Man briefly recorded with the band as lead vocalist, and even when Craig returned in 2013, it was not for long; he left to form Slaves, and Bradley Scott Walden of Squid the Whale became Emarosa's permanent vocalist. The band began recording late in 2013, and emerged in September 2014 with Versus, its highest-charting album to date. Both Ladekjaer and Koszewski amicably departed Emarosa shortly afterward. ~ Jason Birchmeier, Rovi