The Van Dykes were a Texas soul trio whose sound, harmonies, and style were closely patterned after Curtis Mayfield and the Impressions. Lead singer Rondalis Tandy formed the group in 1964, teaming with tenor vocalist Wenzon Mosley, bass singer James Mays, and falsetto artist Eddie Nixon. But Nixon left before they cut their signature song, "No Man Is an Island," in 1964. Both this and subsequent singles revolved around Tandy's sweeping, pained falsetto leads and the trio's keen, tight interaction and harmonizing. They folded when Tandy left for California in 1968. ~ Ron Wynn, Rovi