Ben Folds Five Track-By-Track: The Sound of the Life of the Mind


Ben Folds Five returns today (Sept. 18) with "The Sound of The Life of the Mind," its first album in 13 years. But bassist Robert Sledge calls the whole process "organic," despite the decade-plus since 1999's "The Unauthorized Biography of Reinhold Messner." From what frontman Ben Folds calls the "dangerous rhythm section" on opener "Erase Me" to exactly how he made "Thank You For Breaking My Heart," the waltz that closes the record, "a lot more earnest," the trio sat down for Billboard's cameras to run down the stories, feelings and meanings behind each of the album's 10 tracks.

Ben Folds Five And Fraggle Rock Team Up