Robert Plant Returns To Americana With Band of Joy

Getty Images
Robert Plant

Robert Plant takes an eclectic dive into Americana roots music on "Band of Joy," his first new album since 2007's "Raising Sand." The album was recorded in Nashville with an all-star group of musicians and is due Sept. 14 on Rounder Records.

"Band of Joy" was co-produced by Plant and the renowned guitarist Buddy Miller, and the group (also called Band of Joy) includes multi-instrumentalist Darrell Scott (mandolin, guitar, accordion, pedal, lap steel and banjo lines), vocalist Patty Griffin, Byron House on bass and Marco Giovino on percussion.

"Band of Joy" finds Plant putting his unique stamp on a wide variety of source material, including versions of Los Lobos's "Angel Dance," Low's "Silver Rider" and "Monkey," and the Kelly Brothers' 1960s soul classic "Falling In Love Again."

Plant's last album, 2007's "Raising Sand," featured vocal duets with Allison Krauss and was produced by T-Bone Burnett. That album won six Grammy Awards -- including Album of the Year - and debuted on the Billboard 200 at No. 2.

Robert Plant and the Band of Joy will tour the U.S. in July with additional dates to be added.

Here's the "Band of Joy" track listing:

"Angel Dance"
"House of Cards"
"Central Two-O-Nine"
"Silver Rider"
"You Can't Buy My Love"
"I'm Falling In Love Again"
"The Only Sound That Matters"
"Cindy I'll Marry You Someday"
"Harm's Swift Way"
"Satan, Your Kingdom Must Come Down"
"Even This Shall Pass Away"