The Expansive John Lennon Reissue Campaign

Win New John Lennon Reissues And More

The "Gimme Some Truth" catalog campaign from EMI Music is the centerpiece of the music company's commemoration of what would've been John Lennon's 70th birthday on Oct. 9.

Overseen by Yoko Ono, the campaign will include remastered and repackaged recordings to be released Oct. 5 in North America and one day earlier in the rest of the world.

Here's a description of the releases.

gimme some truth "Gimme Some Truth" is a four-CD set containing 72 of Lennon's songs, organized uniquely by themes: "Working Class Hero," "Woman," "Borrowed Time" and "Roots."
power to the people "Power to the People: The Hits" contains 15 of Lennon's best-known and top-charting songs: "Power to the People," "Gimme Some Truth," "Woman," "Instant Karma (We All Shine On)," "Whatever Gets You Thru the Night," "ColdTurkey," "Jealous Guy," "#9 Dream," "(Just Like) Starting Over," "Mind Games," "Watching theWheels," "Stand by Me," "Imagine," "Happy Xmas (War Is Over)" and "Give Peace a Chance." An "Experience Edition" of this collection will include a DVD of these songs.
double fantasy "Double Fantasy" arrives in two editions: a remastered version of the original 1980 disc,which won the Grammy Award for album of the year, and "Double Fantasy Stripped Down," with new mixes produced by Ono and Jack Douglas, who together co-produced the original album. Sean Ono Lennon created the drawings used for the cover of "Double Fantasy Stripped Down."
some time in new york "Some Time in New York City" contains remastered versions of the 1972 studio tracks, as well as a second disc featuring six live cuts that were included on the original album.
"John Lennon Signature Box" contains 11 CDs, including remastered versions of eight of Lennon's albums: "John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band" (1970), "Imagine" (1970), "Some Time in New York City" (1972), "Mind Games" (1973), "Walls and Bridges" (1974), "Rock 'N' Roll (1975), "Double Fantasy" (1980) and "Milk and Honey" (1984). The boxed set also will include discs of key singles and 13 previously unreleased home recordings, as well as essays written by Yoko Ono, Sean Ono Lennon and Julian Lennon.