Latin Conference & Awards

Billboard Bits: Third Eye Blind, 311, 'Nashville Star'

News on Third Eye Blind, 311, 'Nashville Star'

3ebAOL Music's First Listen initiative will tomorrow (March 14) debut "Blinded (When I See You)," drawn from modern rock act Third Eye Blind's upcoming album, "Out of the Vein," due May 13 via Elektra. The cut will be available online at beginning 12:01 ET on Saturday. Additionally, Third Eye Blind will tape a live performance and interview for later broadcast on AOL Music's Sessions@AOL program.

As previously reported, "Out of the Vein" was originally titled "Crystal Baller" and was planned for release last October. The first single from the set will be "When I See You." Previously announced collaborations with Andrew W.K. and the Moldy Peaches' Kimya Dawson have made the final cut for the album, but a pairing with Limp Bizkit's Fred Durst has been scrapped.

"Out of the Vein" is the follow-up to 1999's "Blue," which debuted at No. 40 on The Billboard 200 and has sold 1.25 million copies in the U.S., according to Nielsen SoundScan.

-- Jonathan Cohen, N.Y.

311Thanks to its numeric moniker, funk-rock hybrid quintet 311 designated Tuesday (March 11) as its own personal holiday. Since the group couldn't play a special concert on the date this year, it decided to thank their fans by posting a plethora of new content on its official Web site.

In addition to a host of new photos and special deals on 311 merchandise, the band posted four previously unreleased songs to the site in MP3 form, which fans can download for free. "Space Funk" (instrumental) and "Old Funk" (instrumental) were originally recorded during the sessions for 1997's Capricorn album "Transistor," while "Seal the Deal" and "Cali Soca" (instrumental) are demos from the pre-production stage for 1999's "Soundsystem."

311 is working on its seventh studio album, and posting periodic progress updates on the site. The band's last album, "From Chaos" (Volcano), debuted at No. 10 on The Billboard 200 and has sold 569,000 copies in the U.S., according to Nielsen SoundScan.

-- Troy Carpenter, N.Y.

NashColumbia Records has set a March 25 date for the release of "Nashville Star: The Finalists," a compilation album that will feature music from the 12 finalists to USA's "American Idol"-styled country music talent competition TV show. Each of the 12 worked up a country standard -- such as "Act Naturally," "Your Cheatin' Heart," and "Son of a Preacher Man" -- and teamed with Nashville producers to create the album tracks.

The finalists will perform their respective chosen songs on Saturday's (March 15) episode of "Nashville Star."

Here is the track list for "Nashville Star: The Finalists":

"Blue Eyes Cryin' in the Rain," Travis Howard
"Heartbreak Hotel," Kristen Kissling
"Walking After Midnight," Brandi Gibson
"Hey Good Lookin'," Prentiss Varnon
"Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye," Buddy Jewel
"Act Naturally," Brandon Silveira
"Two More Bottles of Wine," Jamey Garner
"Your Cheatin' Heart," Natasha Valentine
"When You Say Nothing at All," John Arthur Martinez
"Son of a Preacher Man," Amy Chappell
"Honky Tonk Blues," Miranda Lambert
"Poor, Poor Pitiful Me," Anne Louise Blythe

-- Troy Carpenter, N.Y.