Iggy Pop has set a Sept. 30 release date for "Skull Ring," his latest Virgin album.

Iggy Pop has set a Sept. 30 release date for "Skull Ring," his latest Virgin album, which as previously reported, will feature four songs recorded with original Stooges bandmates Ron Asheton (guitar and bass) and Scott Asheton (drums). The disc will also feature cuts recorded with Sum 41, Green Day, Peaches and Pop's band the Trolls.

The first single from the disc, "Little Know It All" features young punksters Sum 41, and was co-written with that band's Deryck Whibley and producer Greig Nori. Pop produced every song on "Skull Ring," including "Private Hell" and "Supermarket" with Green Day and "Motor Inn," featuring hardcore electro-rapper Peaches.

But the most anticipated "Skull Ring" tracks are certainly the four Pop-Asheton-Asheton compositions, marking the first new music by the trio in 30 years. Album-opening "Little Electric Chair" plus "Skull Rings," "Loser" and "Dead Rock Star" were written and recorded by the three in January at Miami's Hit Factory Criteria Studios.

The album's remaining songs include six with Pop's band the Trolls, and a solo Pop acoustic number, "Til Wrong Feels Right," based on an old blues tune by Mississippi Fred McDowell.

Iggy & the Stooges (with indie-rock icon Mike Watt filling in on bass) played their first show in more than 25 years April 27 at Indio, Calif.'s Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival. The group has two remaining summer shows planned: Aug. 9 at Wantagh, New York's Jones Beach Amphitheater and an Aug. 14 Detroit-area homecoming at Clarkston, Mich.'s DTE Energy Music Theatre, supported by Sonic Youth. Iggy will also tour Europe with the Trolls later this year.