Trump Inauguration

New Nevilles Album Casts Long 'Shadow'

The forthcoming Neville Brothers album has been dubbed "Walkin' in the Shadow of Life."

The forthcoming Neville Brothers album has been dubbed "Walkin' in the Shadow of Life." Originally expected in September, the set has been pushed back to an Oct. 19 release date. As previously reported, the album will be the sibling act's first under a licensing deal with Back Porch/Narada/EMI.

Hailed as a return to the New Orleans-based group's funk roots, the set features 13 tracks, 11 of which were written or co-written by the Nevilles. Among the highlights are "Junkie Child, " "Brothers" and "Can't Stop the Funk," as well as "Kingdom Come," which was co-authored by Cyril Neville and U2 lead singer Bono.

One of the two non-Neville-written tracks will serve as the album's first single: "Ball of Confusion (That's What the World Is Today)," a No. 3 hit on Billboard's singles chart for the Temptations in 1970. Aaron Neville says world events influenced the band's choice to record the song, which will be serviced Aug. 16 to U.S. radio stations for airplay consideration.

"The lyrics speak to the entire human race," he says. "We all need to do our individual parts to help make this world a better place to live in. If we don't start making changes, we're going to be stuck in a world that is just that, a 'Ball of Confusion.'"

"Walkin' in the Shadow of Life" marks the end of the Neville Brothers' five year recording hiatus. The set features siblings Aaron and Cyril on vocals and percussion, Art contributing vocals and keyboards and Charles adding vocals, tenor sax and flute. Aaron's son Ivan Neville also appears on keyboards while Art's son Ian plays guitar on the album, which was produced by Milton Davis (John Mellencamp, Dionne Farris).

The album will be the group's first since 1999's "Valence Street" (Columbia).