Hot Product

Alejandro Escovedo

A Star-Studded Tribute

PorA top-shelf roster of artists has pitched in for "Por Vida," a tribute album for singer/songwriter Alejandro Escovedo due this week via Or Music. The set also boasts a previously unreleased track by the tribute's subject himself. Escovedo recorded "Break This Time" in April 2003, shortly before falling ill with hepatitis C.

Other contributors to the project include Steve Earle, the Minus 5 (featuring R.E.M.'s Peter Buck and Young Fresh Fellows principal Scott McCaughey), Son Volt, the Mekons' Jon Langford and Sally Timms, dB's principal Chris Stamey, singer/songwriter Bob Neuwirth, True Believers singer/guitarist Jon Dee Graham, the Section String Quartet, Nicholas Tremulis and Tres Chicas.

Blues great Charlie Musselwhite and Texas-based guitarist Charlie Sexton (Bob Dylan, Arc Angels) team up on "Everybody Loves Me," while M. Ward and Vic Chesnutt are paired on "Way It Goes."

The Cowboy Junkies have turned in a rendition of "Don't Need You," and the set will also feature the Jayhawks' take on "Last To Know" and Velvet Underground alum John Cale's cover of "She Doesn't Live Here Anymore." The artist's niece, Shelia E., and brother, Pete Escovedo, have recorded "The Ballad of the Sun and Moon."