Hot Product

Elvis Costello / Stereolab

Elvis And The Stereo

Elvis"King of America," the 1986 album that saw Elvis Costello ditch the Attractions and turn introspective and even rootsy, is the latest of the artist's catalog titles lined up for reissue via Rhino this week. The set is expanded to two discs, the second of which boasts a host of Costello's solo demos, as well as rare Coward Brothers and live recordings.

The album was originally credited to the Costello Show Featuring the Attractions and Confederates, since one song -- "Suit of Lights" -- survived scrapped recordings with Costello's longtime band that were intended to make up half of the album. The rest of the set features a crack lineup of musicians that includes guitarists T-Bone Burnett and James Burton, drummers Jim Keltner, Mickey Curry, Ron Tutt and Earl Palmer, bassists Ray Brown and Jerry Scheff, keyboardist Mitchell Froom and multi-instrumentalist T-Bone Wolk.

The new edition's 21-song second disc relies heavily on solo demo recordings to differ it from Rykodisc's 1995 reissue of the title. In addition to several songs that made it through to the original album, there are other notable demos, including "Having It All" and "I Hope You're Happy Now." Only one new live recording not on the Ryko edition appears on the new set, a version of Buddy Holly's "True Love Ways."

Meanwhile, Stereolab this week releases a two-CD/one-DVD collection of EPs and rarities, "Oscillons From the Anti-Sun" (Too Pure). The track list stretches as far back as 1993's "Jenny Ondioline," an 18-minute track found on that year's album "Transient Random-Noise Bursts With Announcements." Also included are the album and single version of "Ping Pong," a live version of "Transona 5" and the contents of the 2001 EP "Captain Easychord."

The DVD features videos for such tracks as "Miss Modular," "Fluorescences" and "Wow and Flutter," plus performances of "Cybele's Reverie" and "Les Yper Sound" on the U.K. variety show "Later With Jools Holland."