Slipknot Reveal Details of New Album ‘.5: The Gray Chapter’

Slipknot Envision 'Melancholy' Album in Wake of Bassist's Death

Slipknot fans, the long wait is nearly over. The metal band’s fifth studio album -- their first in more than six years -- will be released Oct. 21 on Roadrunner Records.

Titled 5: The Gray Chapter, the new set is Slipknot's first since 2008's "All Hope is Gone,” which reached No. 1 on the Billboard 200, Rock, and Alternative Charts. And it marks the outfit's first release without founding bassist Paul Gray, who died in 2010 from an accidental overdose of morphine and fentanyl.

If the first two tracks from the Gray Chapter are anything to go by, Slipknot haven't mellowed with age. First single "The Negative One" dropped earlier this month. Its chilling companion video was directed by band member Shawn “Clown” Crahan, and has quickly generated more than 2.5 million individual hits on YouTube. 

A second track, "The Devil In I," is now online. Its audio-clip is closing-in on one million hits.

In support of the new release, Slipknot will hit the road for a U.S. tour starting Oct. 25 at Knotfest in San Bernardino, Calif. Organizers of Australia’s Soundwave festival recently announced Slipknot would headline the 2015 trek alongside the likes of Faith No More, Soundgarden and Slash. Joey Jordison, who had been with the band since its inception in 1995, won't make either trip. He split with the act late last year.

.5: The Gray Chapter Tracklisting:

1.   "XIX"
2.   "Sarcastrophe"
3.   "AOV"
4.   "The Devil In I"
5.   "Killpop"
6.   "Skeptic"
7.   "Lech"
8.   "Goodbye"
9.   "Nomadic"
10. "The One That Kills The Least"
11. "Custer"
12. "Be Prepared For Hell"
13. "The Negative One"
14. "If Rain Is What You Want" 

Special Edition Bonus Tracks

15. "Override" (Bonus Track)
16. "The Burden" (Bonus Track)