Phish Name New Album 'Joy'

Credit: Jeff Kravitz
With the first leg of their summer tour now in the history books, Phish has announced the title of its first studio album in five years. "Joy," a ten song set, is due later this summer on the band's own JEMP Records. As previously reported, Phish released the thirteen minute "Time Turns Elastic" on May 26 directly through iTunes. "Joy" was recorded in New York City and sees the seminal jam quartet reteaming with producer Steve Lillywhite, with whom they worked with for 1996's "Billy Breathes."

Fans who had the opportunity to catch Phish during their first proper comeback tour got a taste of nine new tunes, when they showcased swinging blues riffs on "Kill Devil Hills," groovy interplays between guitarist Anastasio and pianist Page McConnell during "Ocelot" and the long, winding jam-friendly "Light." Only "I've Been Around" has yet to make its live debut. In March, the band played "Backwards Down the Number Line" at their first Hampton, Va. reunion gigs.

After a much-ballyhooed performance at Bonnaroo where they jammed with Bruce Springsteen, Phish is currently taking some time off before kicking off the second leg of their summer tour with a four night stand at legendary venue Red Rocks in Morrison, Col on July 30.

Here is the track list for "Joy":

"Twenty Years Later"
"Backwards Down the Number Line"
"Stealing Time From the Faulty Plan"
"Sugar Shack"
"Kill Devil Falls"
"I've Been Around"
"Time Turns Elastic"