Swell Season Follows 'Once' Success With 'Strict Joy'
Glen Hansard Marketa Irglova swell season

Acclaimed folk duo the Swell Season will release "Strict Joy," the pair's first set of new material since their breakout on-screen performances in the indie film "Once." Due September 29 on Anti-, the 12 songs find Oscar winners Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova and several different musicians working with producer Peter Katis (The National, Interpol) at his Bridgeport, Connecticut studio.

Members of Hansard's other group, the Frames, along with horn player Steven Bernstein (Levon Helm, Lou Reed) and Chicago based avant-jazz percussionist Chad Taylor (Chicago Underground Trio, Marc Ribot) join the duo for this batch of new tunes.

"Strict Joy" follows the Swell Season's smash soundtrack to the film "Once." Released in 2007, it has since has sold 708,000 according to Nielsen SoundScan. The music from "Once" received a massive boost in 2008 when the single "Falling Slowly" received two Grammy nominations and an Oscar win for Best Original Song. The duo spent a majority of last year on the road, playing theaters and festivals in both major and mid-sized markets.

Following in the footsteps of many musicians such as Phish, the White Stripes, Sonic Youth and the Who, Hansard and Irglova were recently immortalized in an episode of "The Simpsons," in which the cartoon family encounters them in Dublin.

The Swell Season will resume touring duties this fall and have a tour documentary slated for future release as well.

Here is the track list for "Strict Joy":

"Low Rising"
"Feeling the Pull"
"In These Arms"
"The Rain"
"Fantasy Man"
"Paper Cup"
"High Horses"
"The Verb"
"I Have Loved You Wrong"
"Love That Conquers"
"Two Tongues"
"Back Broke"