Basement Jaxx Plan Rare DJ Tour For 'Scars' Release
Andrew Whitton

Basement Jaxx, the British dance music duo responsible for some of the most infectious dancefloor filling anthems of the last decade, will follow the release of their latest studio album with a series of rare North American DJ dates this autumn.

The DJ tour will kick off in San Francisco on Oct. 30 and play the HAR Haunted Mansion party in Los Angeles on Halloween before heading to Toronto, Chicago, and New York in early November.

"Scars," the group's 5th album, and first to be co-released by Ultra Records and XL, is set for release on Oct. 6. As previously reported, the Jaxx' Felix Buxton and Simon Ratcliffe enlisted a serious roster of collaborators for their latest project, including Yoko Ono, Kelis, Santigold, blue-eyed soul newcomers Sam Sparro and Eli "Paperboy" Reid, Amp Fiddler and the Bellrays' singer Lisa Kekaula, among others.

The album kicks off with an operatic intro before the title track's stuttering half-time beats compete with the band's signature kitchen sink of noise. "Twerk" is an electro-laden floor-filler that riffs on "Maniac" from Flashdance anchored by a Yo Majesty rap. "She's No Good" turns Lightspeed Champion's vocal chant into a funkified call-and-response, while "Raindrops" - the first single - gives Buxton's own vocals the Auto-tune treatment without caving to cliche. Ono lends her vocals to "Day of the Sunflowers (We March On)," while Santigold's ska-tinged track is called "Saga."

The group have also recorded a second as-yet-untitled set of "Pink Floyd-y, more ambient-y stuff," according to Felix Burton, one half of the pair. "That's going to come out as probably a mini LP afterwards," he says, "more for bath-time music."

As for the band bringing its legendary massive, circus-like live show - which includes an ever-evolving crew of 20 or so singers and dancers - back to the United States, Buxton remains non-commital. "Up to now, we've been in South America and Australia, and then we're going to be in Japan and Korea, and then we're all around Europe this summer," he said. "If people like the music and really get into it, then we'll probably come. If they don't, we won't."

The full tracklisting for "Scars" is:

1. "Scars" ft. Kelis, Maleka & Chipmunk
2. "Raindrops"
3. "She's No Good" ft. Eli "Paperboy" Reed
4. "Saga" ft. Santigold
5. "Feelings Gone" ft. Sam Sparro
6. "My Turn" ft. Lightspeed Champion
7. "A Possibility" ft. Amp Fiddler
8. "Twerk" ft. Yo Majesty
9. "Day of The Sunflowers (We March On)" ft. Yoko Ono
10. "What's A Girl Gotta Do?" ft. Paloma Faith
11. "Stay Close" ft. Lisa Kekaula
12. "D.I.S.tractionz" ft. Jose Hendrix
13. "Gimme Somethin' True" ft. Jose James