Women in Music 2016

Gloria Trevi, Horacio Palencia, Jesus Tarazon Get Top Honors at BMI Latin Music Awards

Kevin Winter/Getty Images
Honoree Gloria Trevi performs during the 23rd Annual BMI Latin Awards at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel on March 2, 2016 in Beverly Hills, Calif. 

Sony/ATV & J Balvin also win.

Enveloped in an aura of fabulousness, pop star Gloria Trevi received the president’s award at the 2016 BMI Latin Music Awards, held Wednesday (March 2) at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills.

Trevi, who has long defined herself as a singer/songwriter first, drove the point home by performing a slew of songs that encompassed more than 20 years of hits, beginning with 1989’s "Dr. Psiquiatra" (Dr. Shrink) and going into newer hits like 2006’s “Todos me Miran.”

Billboard Latin Music Awards 2016: See the Full List of Finalists

“Honestly, what I write, it’s not mine,” Trevi told Billboard prior to the awards. “I feel it’s dictated to me from the heavens. Seriously. I think our inspiration comes from God. Because in real life I’m nowhere near as beautiful or eloquent as my songs.”

While Trevi was the diva of the night, the hero was regional Mexican singer/songwriter Horacio Palencia, who won BMI’s  songwriter of the year award for the fifth time. This year, he tied with fellow regional Mexican songwriter Jesús Tarazón for the honor.

Gloria Trevi Says Her Biopic Was 'Hard to Watch, But It Has a Message': Exclusive Video

The contemporary Latin song of the uear award went to “Ay Vamos,” the sultry, sexy reggaetón hit recorded by J Balvin and penned by Balvin with collaborators Bull Nene, Alejandro Patiño and Alejandro Ramírez “Sky.”

Publisher of the year honors went to Sony/ATV Music Publishing.

While Palencia is a solo artist, this time he won for songs penned for other major acts, including “Háblame de Ti” (Banda Sinaloense MS) and “Consecuencia de mis actos” (La Banda el Recodo).

Tarazón’s winning songs include the much-talked about “La Bala” -- about gun violence -- performed by Los Tigres del Norte. Other winning tracks include “Soltero Disponible,” recorded by Régulo Caro.

As for Sony/ATV, their long and varied list of hits included “Adrenalina,” the hit track performed by Wisin and featuring Jennifer Lopez and Ricky Martin, “Passion Whine” by Farruko featuring Sean Paul and “Cuando nos Volvamos a Encontrar,” the Carlos Vives hit recorded with Marc Anthony